37.5 C
Monday, May 20, 2024

India Hosts Women’s Paris Olympic Hockey Qualification in Ranchi

Must read

India is set to host the Paris Olympic Hockey qualification for women in Ranchi. The Vantage Black Sticks Men and Women will vie for a spot in the Olympics during their qualification tournaments in Oman and India from January 13 to 21.

The eight-team tournament will take place in Muscat, Oman, and Ranchi, India. The top three teams from each tournament will secure a spot in the Olympics. The teams are divided into two pools of four, with the top two from each pool advancing to the semi-finals. The winners of the semi-finals will automatically qualify, and the bronze medal match will determine the final qualifier.

The Black Sticks Men, ranked 11th globally, are in a pool with Canada (17), Chile (22), and Germany (5). The Women (9) face India (6), USA (15), and Italy (19). Both teams have undergone thorough preparation, with the Women having a series against the USA and three friendly matches, while the Men had a successful friendly series against Korea and Malaysia.

The Men’s head coach, Greg Nicol, is pleased with the team’s performance and believes they are hitting their stride at the right time. Similarly, the Women’s head coach, Phil Burrows, is confident in his team’s readiness for the tournament in India.

.India Hosts Women's Paris Olympic Hockey Qualification in Ranchi

The Women’s opening match is against Italy on January 14, and the Men start their tournament against Chile on January 16. The teams are determined and ready to compete for a coveted spot in the Paris Olympics.


The squad includes Sam Child, Hannah Cotter, Kailtin Cotter, Casey Crowley, Tarryn Davey, Frances Davies, Steph Dickins, Katie Doar, Hannah Gravenall, Megan Hull, Alia Jaques, Julia King, Olivia Merry, Grace O’Hanlon, Hope Ralph, Brooke Roberts, Olivia Shannon, Liz Thompson, Rose Tynan, and Anna Willocks.

Travelling Reserves

– Match 1 vs Italy – Jan 14, 12.30 am NZT
– Match 2 vs India – Jan 15, 3 am NZT
– Match 3 vs USA – Jan 17, 12.30 am NZT


The squad includes George Baker, Scott Boyde, Malachi Buschl, Dom Dixon, Sean Findlay, Leon Hayward, Sam Hiha, Isaac Houlbrooke, Hugo Inglis, Sam Lane, Dane Lett, Charlie Morrison, Joe Morrison, Hayden Phillips, Kane Russell, Aidan Sarikaya, Jake Smith, Blair Tarrant, Nic Woods, and Simon Yorston.

Travelling Reserves

– Match 1 vs Chile – Jan 16, 1 am NZT
– Match 2 vs Germany – Jan 17, 1 am NZT
– Match 3 vs Canada – Jan 19, 1 am NZT.

- Advertisement -spot_img

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest article